About Oyemekun Alumni


In the beginning…

The idea of floating an alumni association was conceived by a crop of bright and futuristic young ex-students of Oyemekun Grammar School, Akure in 1958. Their dream was to have a platform that connects the old students with their alma mater with the belief believe that a link between the past and the present would chart a roadmap for the future and ultimately rub-off positively on the school and its stakeholders. The outcome of their deliberation gave birth to what is today known as Oyemekun Grammar School, Akure (OGSA) Alumni Association.

Since its inception more than 60 years ago, the association has largely achieved the dreams and aspirations of its founders by promoting and advancing fellowship amongst the alumni of the school, both in Nigeria and in the Diaspora through a carefully woven network of branches, led by committed ExCo members at the state level.

The association is a responsible and responsive alumni body with shared history and heritage, and is committed to protecting the interests of its members and the alma mater.

Every student who attended the school for at least one full academic calendar year is considered a member of the Association.

School Pledge

I entreat you never to forget the great benefits you have received at this school, but always to remember those who, by their benefaction and service, have assisted you to this day. As you enter upon life, may you be devoted to all that is good, and bring honour to the name of this school. As God shall prosper you, may you add to her wealth, that others may enjoy the blessing you yourself have received.

“You are our epistle, written in our hearts, read and learned of all men.”

May God Almight prosper you and grant you strength to be loyal to this school and in your service to our Lord and Master Jesus Christ.

Fact Sheet

The school adopted the phrase “The Only School” in 1957 when it became the first school in the whole of Western Region to be granted approval by the old Western Region Ministry of Education to enroll its students for WAEC in year 5.